L.A. Story

Late Saturday my friend Belia asked me if I would be up for a spur of the moment trip to LA. My answer was, “Hells to the YES!”.

winged eyeliner

cactus flower

Eurasian OwlOur first stop was in Rancho Palos Verdes at Terranea Resort where my friend Ben (from Culinary School) works at Mar’Sel. Mar’Sel is dinner only and the restaurant was bought out for the night. So we met Ben for brunch at another restaurant in the resort. They have 2 birds (one being this Eurasian Owl) that they use to keep the Sea gulls away.  This picture doesn’t do the owl justice. It was crazy to see him rotate his head almost 360 degrees completely around to the other side.

A sleepy Belia pre-coffee

And this of course is Ben! He’s leaving for this vagabond staging (aka working for free in crazy good restaurants like Le Bernardin) trip to New York and Europe in the next month. I’ve promised to come back before he leaves to eat at Mar’Sel and to secure him sending me a package of Parisian Macarons from Laduree (purple box Ben, purple box!).

Then we went to Madewell a store that I recently got Belia addicted to. We both ended up leaving empty handed but I fell in love with a pair of their Boy Jeans which looked completely different on me than they do on their website plus now I know how their jeans fit me. After Madewell we were supposed to go to the Street Art Exhibit at MOCA but we got sucked into shopping instead and hit up Wasteland on Melrose Avenue where we stumbled into a little street art nook…

At Wasteland on Melrose the cashier was kind enough to send us to eat at the Village Idiot. Seriously the best comfort food that I’ve had in a long, long time! I’m not going to go into detail but the dessert was bourbon gelato on a ginger snap cookie with blackberry coulis. Needless to say I slipped into a food coma on the way home and was completely useless to Belia.

Leave a Reply

